Cape Gazette

Cape Henlopen JROTC holds awards ceremony

By Steven Billups | Jun 06, 2014
Photo by: Steven BIllups Rep. Steve Smyk, R-Milton, a veteran and retired Delaware State Trooper, gives the keynote address. In his speech, Smyk shared his past experiences with the cadets. On the subject of failures, Smyk related a quote from a drill instructor in the Army. The DI told Smyk, "Life is difficult for everyone and it continues to knock you down. The Army will teach you that it is you who can pick yourself back up. Things will go wrong, assumptions will prove faulty, and plans will unravel. And you will, despite your best efforts, fail."

The Cape Henlopen Junior Reserve Officer Training Corps held its annual awards ceremony May 21 in the Cape Henlopen High School Auditorium. Local officials and military service organizations were on hand to present awards, medals and certificates to the many hard-working cadets. Earlier in the year the Cape cadets received a Jefferson Award for their many hours of community service.

Rep. Steve Smyk, R-Milton, presents Samantha Franklin with the Department of the Army Cadet Award. Joining Smyk is Gen. Joseph Lank (RET) former adjutant of the State of Delaware. Also receiving the award in line behind Franklin are David Collard, left, and Alexander Dominick. (Photo by: Steven Billups)
Rep. Smyk presents Cadet Dean Hysock with the U.S. Army Recruiting Command award. (Photo by: Steven Billups)
Shown receiving the Military Order of Foreign Wars award is Cadet Jacb Slater. Presenting the award is SSG. Daniel Riley and Rep. Smyk. (Photo by: Steven Billups )
Presenting the Air Force Order of the Daedalion award to Cadet Alexander Dominick is Dover Air Force Base pilot Lt. Robert Rogers. (Photo by: Steven Billups )
State Senator Ernie Lopez presents the Sons of the American Revolution award to Cadet Alexander Dominick. (Photo by: Steven Billups)
Lt. Col. Ronald Erale, the Cape Henlopen JROTC Instructor received the The Military Order of the World Wars (MOWW) award from Lt. Col. Mike Wilgen, Commander of MOWW Region III. (Photo by: Steven Billups)
The Most Outstanding Senior Cadet Cody Ross received the 5th Avenue Memorial Saber. Shown with Ross are (l-r) Sen Ernie Lopez, Cape President of Board of Education Spencer Brittingham, Rep. Smyk, Ross and Cape Henlopen School Superintendent Robert Fulton. (Photo by: Steven Billups)
The LCPL Chad Clifton Memorial Award is presented to the Best Leader-Staff in the Unit. Shown are (l-r) Senator Ernie Lopez, Terri Clifton, Staff Officer Amber Cluesman, Spencer Brittingham, Platoon Leader Jevon Sample, Platoon Sgt. Jennifer Stirrup, Bob Fulton, Assistant Platoon Sgt. Josh Steiner, Squad Leader Jade Jefferson, Ernest Swanson and Evertt Beach from Marine Corps League and Representative Smyk. (Photo by: Steven Billups)
The "Woody Dively" Memorial Award for the Cadet of the Year was presented to Cadet David Collard, center, by Spencer Brittingham, left, and VFW 7447 Commander Tracy Bowen. (Photo by: Steven Billups)
Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.

The price of liberty is eternal vigilance.