Cape Gazette

Cape lacrosse teams honored at Legislative Hall

Cape school board recognizes teams to close out long day
By Dave Frederick | Jun 13, 2014
Photo by: Dave Frederick The synergy and symbolism are stated perfectly, "You have to step up if you want to win a championship." Cape's boys' and girls' teams with (in front l-r) coach P.J. Kesmodel, Sen. Ernie Lopez, and coach Jack Lingo. Also shown are Sarah Rambo, Kaite Klabe, Charlie Burton, Christian Prestipino, Iseabal Cryne, Korinne LeMaire, Karissa LeMaire, Juan Saez, James Ashby, Sam Broadhurst, Katherine Judge, Kyle Orton, A.J. Marshall, Coryn Cannon, Lindsey Voss, Sean Lally, Garret Becker, Karalyn Joseph, Sarah Hyde, Chris DePrince, Nicholas Conrad, Lizzie Frederick, Allison Palmer, Luke Benson, Hank Coveleski, Allie Yeager, Taylor Gooch, Chris Argo, Thomas Ott, Michael Hopkins and Todd Keen.

The Big Yellow Taxi driven by Fred Harvey with a cargo of champions dieseled to Dover June 12, commencing a day of honoring Cape's state championship lacrosse teams that would last seven hours from post to paddock.

The teams were recognized and honored in the House chambers by Rep. Steve Smyk, R-Milton, and House Speaker Rep. Pete Schwartzkopf, D-Rehoboth Beach, then in the Senate by Sen. Ernie Lopez, R-Lewes, who spoke to his colleagues about Cape's accomplishments. The teams finished the Dover trip with a late-afternoon meeting and photo shoot inside the office of Gov. Jack Markell.

The bus then motored south, stopping at Grotto Pizza in Milford for player refueling, before heading to Mariner to be recognized and honored by the Cape Henlopen School District Board of Education.

A few of the girls changed from summer dresses to lax practice gear for a 7 p.m. Eastern Shore Lacrosse practice at Champions  Stadium.

Both teams will enjoy their state championship banquets this week.

Cape lax boys pose with Gov. Jack Markell in his office. Shown in back are Michael Hopkins, Hank Coveleski, Garrett Becker, Todd Keen, Luke Benson, Juan Saez, Markell, Thomas Ott, Charlie Burton, Chris Argo, Chris De Prince-Levis, Nick Conrad and coach Jack Lingo. In front are Christian Prestipino, James Ashby, Kyle Orton, Sean Lally, and A.J. Marshall. (Photo by: Dave Frederick )
Sen. Ernie Lopez, R-Lewes, talks to his esteemed colleagues about the Cape community and Cape lacrosse. (Photo by: Dave Frederick )
Gov. Jack Markell is shown with the Cape girls' lacrosse team. Shown are in back Sarah Rambo, Iseabel Cryne, Korinne LeMaire, Sarah Hyde, Katie Klabe, Alison Palmer, Karalyn Joseph, Markell, Taylor Gooch, Sam Broadhurst, Lindsey Voss and Coryn Cannon. In front are Karissa LeMaire, Kat Judge, Allie Yeager and Lizzie Frederick. (Photo by: Dave Frederick )
Taylor Gooch tells house members her name. Each Cape player got to rock the microphone. (Photo by: Dave Frederick )
The teams eat at Grotto Pizza in Milford before heading to the Cape school board recognition event. (Photo by: Dave Frederick )
The girls' lax team was honored by the Cape school board. Shown in back are coach P.J. Kesmodel, Superintendent Bob Fulton, Alison Palmer, Taylor Gooch, Karalyn Joseph, Sarah Hyde, Katie Klabe Sarah Rambo, Coryn Cannon and School Board Member Spencer Brittingham. In middle are Lindsey Voss, Korinne LeMaire, Iseabel Cryne and Sam Broadhurst. In front are bus driver Fred Harvey, Lizzie Frederick, Allie Yeager, Kat Judge and Karissa LeMaire. (Photo by: Dave Frederick )
The boys' lax team was honored by the Cape school board. In front are (l-r) Thomas Ott, Luke Benson, Kyle Orton, James Ashby, Nick Conrad and Garrett Becker. In back are Christian Prestipino, James Katurakes, Grant Gillan, Michael Hopkins, Chris De Prince-Levis, Charlie Burton, Todd Keen, Juan Saez,  A.J. Marshall, Chris Argo, Superintendent Bob Fulton, School Board Member Spencer Brittingham and coach Jack Lingo. (Photo by: Dave Frederick )
Cape girls enjoy pizza after four hours at Legislative Hall. Shown are (l-r) Kat Judge, Sam Broadhurst, Allie Yeager, Coryn Cannon, Lizzie Frederick and Karissa LeMaire. (Photo by: Dave Frederick )
Rep. Steve Smyk presents Cape boys' lacrosse coach Jack Lingo with a proclamation from the state House of Representatives as Speaker Pete Schwartzkopf looks on. (Photo by: Dave Frederick )
House Speaker Pete Schwartzkopf congratulates Kat Judge for being Player of the Year. (Photo by: Dave Frederick )
Juan Saez lets the House know his name. (Photo by: Dave Frederick )
Coach P.J. Kesmodel tells the Senate " We play the best teams in the country from out of state and try to represent  Delaware well." (Photo by: Dave Frederick )
Gov. Jack Markell looks out at Cape's lacrosse teams before asking "So is anyone planning to play in college?" Charlie Burton said,"Yes, Hopkins." Markell, "Really?" Charlie, "No, not really." (Photo by: Dave Frederick )
Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.

The price of liberty is eternal vigilance.