Cape Gazette

Dave Marshall Tennis supports People's Place

Jan 22, 2014
Source: Submitted People's Place case managers JaKiya Davis, left, and Keisha Talley, right, are shown with (l-r) David Miller, Eric Lloyd, and Maurica McCray-Witowski.

Members of the Dave Marshall Tennis and Fitness Center in Lewes came together for a tennis round robin, luncheon and silent auction Dec. 5. The luncheon was held at Annabella’s Restaurant in Lewes. Co-chairs Gail Cooper and Anne Lyons along with committee members Ann Boytim, Lee Eckenrode, Elizabeth Rupprecht and Evelyn Davidson worked tirelessly to make this a special, meaningful event.

The benefit supported “aging out” foster care youth through the Independent Living Program at People’s Place in Milford. The program services youth in Sussex County ages 16 to 21 who are currently in foster care or have aged out of the foster care system. The purpose of the IL Program is to provide life skills and supportive services that will help the youth achieve independence and self-sufficiency. Services include assistance in the area of job search and training, educational planning, housing assistance, money management, social skills and accessing community resources.

The event raised a substantial amount of money which was converted into gift cards to local stores and supermarkets. The gift cards were delivered to People’s Place before the holidays. The committee members and all the people who participated in this event were honored to form a partnership with People’s Place to help people find their path to growth and independence.

The committee met with Christina Jones–Bey, Independent Living Program director, staff members and three foster care youth who are in the Independent Living Program Jan. 8. They shared their stories, and there was a discussion about what could be helpful in the future. Some recommendations were participation in the advisory council and work groups, helping with transportation and mentoring.

Liz Rupprecht, left, presents a check to People's Place Independent Living Program Director Christina Jones-Bey. (Source: Submitted)
Shown in back are participants (l-r) Helen Midnight, Marian Kirklin, Liz Rupprecht, Diane Reed, Linda Moneau, Bonnie Walker, Ann Boytim, Anne Lyons, Gail Cooper, Sue Ellen Gallamore, Joanne Fischer and Janet Sims. In front are Mary Ann Mohacey, Melinda Chaite, Carol Culp, Lee Eckenrode and Pauline Shelley. (Source: Submitted)
Tennis winners are Mike Zilliox and Liz Visilikos. (Source: Submitted)
Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.

The price of liberty is eternal vigilance.