Cape Gazette

Delaware Shore Field Hockey crowns champions

Registration open for fall program
By Dan Cook | Jul 25, 2013
Photo by: Dan Cook Riley Klopp, left, and Sophie Czerwinski battle for possession during the White team's 2-0 victory in the Elementary Division championship.

The Delaware Shore Field Hockey Association hosted its Summer of 2013 Championships at Cape Henlopen High School's Champions Stadium July 17. When the final horn sounded, the Elementary Division was won by the White team over the Blue squad 2-0 while the Senior Division top honor was taken by the Pirates over the Vikings by a score of 8-1.

The Elementary Division all-star game was a hard-fought, low-scoring game.  Raegan Ciabattoni had the only goals for the White team, resulting in the 2-0 victory over the Blue team. Ciabattoni’s goal in the first half was on a breakaway after the Blue team had dominated play for more than eight minutes. Her second goal was a near video replay of the first one, again on a semi-breakaway.

The summer league season is now completed for the elementary division, and the fall training program will begin in September. Registration is now open on the Delaware Shore website at

The Senior Division championship game found the fourth-seeded Pirates finishing their march to the championship by defeating the second-seeded Vikings by a final score of 8-1. Lisa Williams opened the scoring early in the first half followed by goals by Lexi Woodruff, Erin Ricker and Anna Steiner. The 4-0 lead was increased in the second half when Ricker, Woodruff and Sam Broadhurst (2) finished off the scoring for the champion Pirates. Sydney Ostroski had the solo goal for the Vikings.

For more information about Delaware Shore Field Hockey go to

Blue team forward McKenna Boyle moves the ball upfield with White team defender Mackenzie Brown in close pursuit. (Photo by: Dan Cook)
Blue team midfielder Riley Klopp battles for the ball with a White team defender. (Photo by: Dan Cook)
Grace Wiggins prepares to block a pass. (Photo by: Dan Cook)
White team defender Mackenzie Brown, left, plays tough defense on Blue team midfielder Emma Lehman. (Photo by: Dan Cook)
The Delaware Shore Field Hockey Silver All-Star team includes (l-r) Bella Myers, McKenna Boyle, Cassidy Shell, coach Alison Myers, Riley Klopp, Grace Wiggins and  Aubrie Myers. (Photo by: Dan Cook)
The Delaware Shore Field Hockey Gold All-Star team includes in back (l-r) Bella Sachs, Mackenzie Brown, coach Cindy Brown, Riley Keen, Reagan Ciabattoni and Elie Cerchio. In front are Madison Short, Lilly McCoy, Elia Ruppert and Madison Hitchens. (Photo by: Dan Cook)
Pirates forward Lexie Woodruff flips a shot toward the goal past Vikings defender Alexa Hendrickson in the Pirates' 8-1 win over the Vikings in the Senior Division championship game. (Photo by: Dan Cook)
Pirates forward Anna Steiner pokes a shot on goalie Tina Gooding. (Photo by: Dan Cook)
Pirates wing Lindsey Williams dribbles past Vikings defender Peyton Medd. (Photo by: Dan Cook)
Vikings center Sydney Smyk controls the ball despite the tough defense by Pirates forward Alexa Woodruff. (Photo by: Dan Cook)
Vikings center Leah Smyk winds up to pass upfield. (Photo by: Dan Cook)
Vikings defender Christina Benson clears the ball from the Pirates' scoring circle. (Photo by: Dan Cook)
Pirates wing Lisa Williams moves the ball into the scoring arc. (Photo by: Dan Cook)
Vikings midfielder Alexa Hendrickson looks to pass to a teammate. (Photo by: Dan Cook)
Vikings forward Alexa Hendrickson, left, moves the ball past Pirates midfielder Lexie Woodruff. (Photo by: Dan Cook)
Pirates center Erin Ricker drives the ball past Vikings defender Jarad Kay. (Photo by: Dan Cook)
Pirates forward Sam Broadhurst shoots on Vikings goalie Tina Gooding. (Photo by: Dan Cook)
Pirates forward Anna Steiner passes the ball upfield. (Photo by: Dan Cook)
Vikings defender Rachel Hagen clears the ball. (Photo by: Dan Cook)
Pirates forward Lisa Williams controls a high ball. (Photo by: Dan Cook)
The Delaware Shore Field Hockey Championship Silver team includes in back (l-r)  Leah Smyk, Alexa Hendrickson, Tina Gooding, Madison Adams and Katie Shockley; kneeling, Marissa Legates, Christina Benson, Jarad Kay and Erin Kay; and in front Sydney Smyk, Sydney Ostroski, Rachel Hagen and Peyton Medd. (Photo by: Dan Cook)
Delaware Shore Field Hockey Senior Division Champions are in back (l-r), Julie Heffernan, Kelly Palekar, Lindsey Williams, Lisa Williams, Amanda Frampton and Erin Ricker; kneeling, Riley Shiels, Sam Broadhurst, Lexie Woodruff, Anna Steiner and Cassidy Best; and in front Hailey Sidibe, Olivia Morton, Sammie Jacona and Delaney Zolper. (Photo by: Dan Cook)
Referees for the Elementary Division were Lexie Gooch, left, and Sydney Ostroski. (Photo by: Dan Cook)
Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.

The price of liberty is eternal vigilance.