Cape Gazette

Georgetown Train Station reopens

By Steven Billups | May 27, 2014
Photo by: Steven Billups Shown at the ribbon cutting are in back (l-r) Toby Givens, HGA president; Joan Tyndall, Sergovic Carmean & Weideman;  Russ McCabe, former Delaware State archivist; and David Anderson, Georgetown councilman-elect. In the middle row are Bill West, Georgetown mayor-elect; Sam Wilson, county council; Mike Wyatt, Georgetown mayor; Rep. Dave Wilson, R-Bridgeville; and Rep. Ruth Briggs King, R-Georgetown. In front are Martin Donovan, Historic Georgetown Association; Carlton Moore, HGA founder; Ruth Ann Minner, former governor of Delaware; Helen Kruger, Chamber membership chair; Harriett Smith Windsor, former secretary of state; Chris Lecates, Georgetown councilwoman-elect; and John Rieley, chamber president.

The historic Georgetown Train Station reopened in a ribbon-cutting ceremony sponsored by the Georgetown Chamber of Commerce. The train station's second floor was severely damaged in a fire in 2011. Local and state officials, who originally helped to revive the train station and open it back in 2003, were on hand to help cut the ribbon on the new train station.


Prior to the ribbon cutting, County Councilman Sam Wilson presents a check to HGA's Martin Donovan. A tribute from senators  Gerald Hocker, Ernie Lopez and Brian Pettyjohn was read by Patricia Anderson, Senate consultant liaison. (Photo by: Steven Billups )
Former Gov. Ruth Ann Minner was presented with a tribute plaque prior to the ribbon cutting. (Photo by: Steven Billups )
The Georgetown Train Station has been fully restored. (Photo by: Steven Billups)
Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.

The price of liberty is eternal vigilance.