Cape Gazette

Lewes Fire Department presents annual awards

Feb 12, 2014
Photo by: Chuck Snyder Jeff Monaco was named Lewes Volunteer Fire Department Firefighter of the Year for 2013.  He is shown here with President Woody Magee, left; Firefighter of the Year Award Committee Chairman Bob Nicholson, and Chief Troy Virden.

Lewes Volunteer Fire Department presented awards at its annual banquet Jan. 18 in the Rehoboth Beach Convention Center.  This is the 218th anniversary year of the department founded in 1796.

The annual banquet includes presentation of awards followed by dancing.

Lewes Volunteer Fire Department operates fire and rescue.stations on Savannah Road in Lewes and in Nassau near Nassau Valley Vineyards.

It also jointly operates, with Rehoboth Beach Fire Company, a fire and rescue station on Route 24 in the Angola area.

Construction is currently under way on a replacement fire house at Nassau.

Eric Reifsnyder receives his Lifetime Member status at the banquet.  Shown with him are President Woody Magee, left, and Chief Troy Virden, right. (Photo by: Chuck Snyder)
Chief Troy Virden presents Henry Baynum with his Lifetime Member award and tag. (Photo by: Chuck Snyder)
Eddie Shaeffer, a member of Lewes Volunteer Fire Department's fire police corps, enjoys keeping company with Eric Reifsnyder's grandson Landon. (Photo by: Chuck Snyder)
Former Lewes Volunteer Fire Department President Craig Stephens received the Louis A. Rickards President's Award for outstanding service to the department. The award is named for Lou Rickards, a long-time president and chief of the department.  Shown are (l-r) Michael Arnett (Lou's grandson), Stephens, Patricia Rickards (Lou's daughter), and Chic and Rosemary Barici of Etched in Time who sponsor the award. (Photo by: Chuck Snyder)
John Burton received a Fire Police Emeritus Award from Chief Troy Virden, left, and President Woody Magee in recognition of his many years of service to the department. (Photo by: Chuck Snyder)
Steve Evans received his Life Member recognition at the banquet.  Shown with him are members of his family (l-r) Patty Marvel, Steve, Hunter Reifsnyder, Peyton Evans, MIndy Evans, Brianna Evans and Wally Evans. (Photo by: Chuck Snyder)
John Lingo accepted an award from President Woody Magee in recognition of the Lingo family's many contributions in support of the volunteers. (Photo by: Chuck Snyder)
Top Emergency Medical Service responders for 2013 were honored at the banquet.  Shown are (l-r) EMS Chief Lin Martin, Edward Schaeffer, George Bixby, Dylan Sharp, Patrick Chorman, Alex Hamilton, Glenn Marshall, Charlie Arnold, Jason Stadler, Kristen Miller, Wally Evans and Garret Acklin. (Photo by: Chuck Snyder)
Top fire responders for 2013 received awards at the banquet. Shown in back are (l-r) Chief Troy Virden, Ernie Stanley, Butch Archer and Shane Raley; in the middle (l-r) are Jay Campbell, Michael Arnett, Wally Evans, Kristen Miller, Fred Slater, Robert Ruddick, George Bixby, Walt Reynolds, Don Clemens and Alex Hamilton; and in front (l-r) are Richard Coning, Edward Schaeffer and Patty Marvel. (Photo by: Dennis Forney)
Lewes Mayor Jim Ford and his wife, Teresa, were among those attending the banquet. (Photo by: Chuck Snyder)
Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.

The price of liberty is eternal vigilance.