Cape Gazette

Lewes-Rehoboth Rotarians recognized for their efforts

Jul 16, 2014
Photo by: Jack Hoban Walt Bryan displays his Rotarian of the Year and Perfect Attendance awards.

The Lewes-Rehoboth Rotary recognized its members for their work and volunteerism for the fiscal year which ended June 30.

Dr. R.U. Hosmane won the Service Above Self Award for organizing a surgical/medical mission to India. Over a 10-day period in February, Hosmane and his team of doctors, nurses and volunteers, examined more than 450 Indian peasants, and performed over 50 surgeries, many on people who had never been examined by a doctor before. The Rotary sponsored Hosmane’s trip. Read about his mission on the Lewes-Rehoboth Rotary Facebook page.

Walter Bryan was named Rotarian of the Year for his help with many projects including Flags for Heroes.

John Lu, Georgiann Deist, and Larry Fifer were named Paul Harris Fellows. The Paul Harris Fellowship is named for Paul Harris, who founded Rotary with three associates in 1905. The fellowship recognizes Rotarians who support Rotary’s humanitarian and educational programs including educational opportunities, food, potable water, healthcare, immunizations and shelter for millions of people.

Walt Bryan and Bill Petersen were recognized for perfect attendance.

Andrew Ratner received a President’s Citation for his work with Rotary’s financial programs and budget.

Jack Riddle and Mike South were recognized for their mentorship to Rotarian leadership and development of the Rotary website, respectively.

Larry Fifer succeeded Bruce Summer as Rotary president.


Dr. R.U. Hosmane received the Service Above Self Award for his humanitarian/medical mission to India. (Photo by: Jack Hoban)
Andrew Ratner holds his President's Citation for his work with financial programs and budget. (Photo by: Jack Hoban)
Jack Riddle, left, and Mike South hold Distinguished Rotarian certificates. South was recognized for mentorship in Rotarian leadership and Riddle for the development of the Rotary website. (Photo by: Jack Hoban)
Walt Bryan and Bill Peterson received Perfect Attendance certificates. (Photo by: Jack Hoban)
Paul Harris recipients (l-r) John Lu, Georgiann Deist, and Larry Fifer display their awards.  Fifer succeeds Bruce Summer as Rotary president. (Photo by: Jack Hoban)
Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.

The price of liberty is eternal vigilance.