Overfalls membership meeting and election set Oct. 11Presentation by Joan Lofland from Vinyard Ship Building
Overfalls Foundation members will meet at 7 p.m., Friday, Oct. 11, at St. Peter's Parish Hall, Lewes, to elect new members to the open seats on the board of directors. The term for three board members has expired.
Departing directors are Jack Lesher, six years as treasurer; Bert Long, six years as a directo); Chuck Patalive, three years as director and IT manager; and Jayne Abercrombie, two years as director and board secretary.
To date, candidates for these positions include Eric Van Gilder, Sue Townsend and Don Smith.
At 7:30 p.m., the regular monthly meeting will feature a presentation by Joan Lofland from the Vinyard Ship Building Company on the Mispillion River, Milford.
The Vinyard Shipbuilding Company was established by Wilson M. Vinyard in 1896 and produced over 150 ships until production stopped in 1951. This story of the shipyard and her shipbuilding crew focuses on the years from 1941-44 when the yard produced 14 subchasers for World War II. Each ship carried three officers and 24 enlisted men into combat on the Atlantic, Pacific and Philippine Sea. Today, 70 years later, the personal accounts from many of these men have been collected. These remarkable letters tell us what the ships and crew had to endure and the tremendous bond that would form between the two.
Making the presentation will beLofland who, with her husband, purchased the site of the Vinyard Shipbuilding Company in 1996. As they gathered information, learned more about the rich history of the site, and spoke to people who remembered the shipyard, materials related to Vinyard and its workers began to come back to them, including issues of industry newspapers published during the war years, given to them by the son of the former Vinyard employee.