Cape Gazette

RAL hosts 18th Annual Young at Art Show

Mar 17, 2014
Photo by: Steven Billups

The Rehoboth Art League held its 18th Annual Young at Art Show opening and awards March 8 at the RAL campus in Henlopen Acres. The show featured artwork from students throughout Sussex County. The art was chosen by each school’s or organization’s art instructor and was juried by the art league.

Cash awards and gift certificates were presented to the top seven works, along with the James Kenneth Derrickson Memorial Scholarship, which entitles the students to tuition-free classes at the RAL for one year, to 20 other outstanding works of art.

The awardees gathered after the awards ceremony for a group photo. Shown standing in back are (l-r) Torre Blackney, Milford Central Academy, scholarship; Parker Logsdon, Beacon Middle School, scholarship; Gabriella Kohr, Indian River High School, scholarship; Nick Kary, Delmarva Christian, second place any grade; Avante Hobson, Beacon Middle School, first place any grade 3D; Rebecca Hobbs, Laurel Library Outreach, scholarship; Makayla Hartman, Indian River High School, first place high school level; Francine Mancuso, SDSA, scholarship; and Zy’Kyeria Nathan, East Millsboro Elementary, scholarship.

In front Chloe Setngel, Lord Baltimore, scholarship; Daniel Foreman, Long Neck Elementary, scholarship; Eoin Lalley, Milton Elementary, scholarship; Taylor Johnson, Shields Elementary, scholarship; Aneisha Lopez, N. Georgetown Elementary, scholarship; Marquis Clark, Blades Elementary, scholarship; and Mandy Seyfert, Indian River High School, Best in Show.

Not shown are Madyson Deere, Shields, first place elementary; Karli Sunnergen, Jefferson School, first place middle school, Kimora Christopher, H.O. Brittingham, third place; Francisco Madera, CHHS, honorable mention.

Scholarship recipients not shown are Theresa Thompson, Cape Henlopen High School; Renee Messick, Burton Village outreach; Norayma Ventura Cruz, Georgetown Elementary; Uneeki Teagle, Walkers Mill Outreach; and Jasmine Finney, West Side New Beginnings Outreach.


Chloe Stenegl of Lord Baltimore Elementary stands next to her Cubist Cat which won a James Kenneth Derrickson Memorial Scholarship. (Photo by: Steven Billups)
Liam Franklin of Long Neck Elementary shows his leaves image from a warm color/cool color project. (Photo by: Steven Billups)
Daniel Foreman of Long Neck Elementary stands with his James Kenneth Derrickson Memorial Scholarship award-winning design. (Photo by: Steven Billups)
Blair Darmstodter of North Georgetown Elementary smiles next to her self portrait. (Photo by: Steven Billups)
Tess DeBatiani from Milton Elementary shows her “Tessalation” design. (Photo by: Steven Billups)
Best in Show winner Mandy Seyfert from Indian River High School shows her scratch art image. (Photo by: Steven Billups)
Standing with her first place any grade 3D Orange Bird is Avante Hobson from Beacon Elementary. (Photo by: Steven Billups)
Nick Kary from Delmarva Christian School won second place any grade place with his Civil War Era locomotive. (Photo by: Steven Billups)
Torre Blakney of Milford Central Academy shows her scholarship-winning flower image. (Photo by: Steven Billups)
Shields Elementary student Taylor Johnson smiles next to her Fish Designed with Stamps which won her a James Kenneth Derrickson Memorial Scholarship (Photo by: Steven Billups)
Francine Mancuso of Southern Delaware School of the Arts is shown with her acrylic self portrait which won her the James Kenneth Derrickson Memorial Scholarship. (Photo by: Steven Billups)
Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.

The price of liberty is eternal vigilance.