Cape Gazette

Rehoboth Beach Independent Film Festival celebrates Italy, holds closing party

Nov 16, 2012
Photo by: Submitted Shown dancing in the big tent are in back (l-r) Nova Gaffney (obscured), Kelsey Oldland, Maggie Kemp, Mia Kwan and Courtney Peden. In front are Lauren Smith, Christina Mahaffie, Morgan Brower, Zane Ellis, Melinda Weaver, Jocelyn Ellis and Romy Stancofski.

The Rehoboth Beach Independent Film Festival was held Nov. 7-13 at The Movies at Midway. On Nov. 10, as part of the film society’s Country Spotlight, two Italian cultural performances were held. The Sussex Dance Academy performed an Italian folk dance called the tarantella.

The tarantella is a lively folk dance performed to a distinct, upbeat musical style. The name “tarantella” is derived from the city of Taranto in southern Italy where the dance is believed to have originated in the 15th century. The name of the tarantula spider comes from the town of Taranto as well. The choreography and name of the dance are based on an old folk belief about the effect of a poisonous spider bite. It was believed that when someone was bitten by a tarantula, the only cure would be to dance the poison out of his or her system. For this reason, many consider the tarantella to be a healing or medicinal dance. Dance scholars offer various interpretations into the origins and meanings of the tarantella.


Shown dancing the tarantella are (l-r) Lauren Smith, Christina Mahaffie, Morgan Brower, Rachel Meoli, Zane Ellis, Melinda Weaver and Kelsey Oldland. (Photo by: Submitted)
Mara DePace, owner of Villa Sorrento Restaurant in Lewes, led the audience in an Italian sing-along as part of the Country Spotlight. She sang Italian favorites “That’s Amore,” “O Sole Mio,” “Santa Lucia” and more. (Photo by: Submitted)
Two film students were given the Morris and Roslyn Fierberg Student Film Award Nov. 11. The Morris and Roslyn Fierberg Student Film Award Endowment Fund was established in 2004 in memory of Morris Fierberg. The fund’s name was expanded to include Roslyn just prior to her passing in 2010. The purpose of this award program is to encourage student film production by acknowledging the outstanding work of student film directors. Full-time high school or undergraduate students from the United States are eligible to participate. Shown receiving honorable mention for his film “Junk Man” is Dan Baxter of DeSales University, left. Presenting the award is Greg Jones, film society education and outreach director. (Photo by: Steven Billups)
Winning the Morris and Roslyn Fierberg Student Film Award is Sarah Rosen, left, a 2012 graduate of Yale University, for her film “Food of Love.” Presenting the award is Greg Jones, Rehoboth Beach Film Society education and outreach director. (Photo by: Steven Billups)
At the closing ceremony on Sunday night, the Audience Awards were announced for films in four categories: Best Feature, Best Debut Feature, Best Short and Best Documentary. The winner of Best Short was “Tsyuako." “Searching for Sugarman” won Best Documentary. Best Debut was awarded to “Time to Spare.” Shown announcing the Best Feature winner, “Come As You Are,” are (l-r) Dave Brant, Gregory Estes and Film Fest Program Director Joe Bilancio. Brant and Estes sponsored the award for the Best Feature. Sarah Friebert and Rita Hanuschock sponsored the Friebert-Hanuschock Best Debut Feature Award. The Best Documentary Award was sponsored by Johannah Barry. The Best Short Award was sponsored by the Rehoboth Beach Film Society Board of Directors. (Photo by: Steven Billups)
Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.

The price of liberty is eternal vigilance.