Cape Gazette

Rehoboth Beach Patrol puts new recruits to the test

Connor Lingo wins Rookie of the Year
By Lexi Coon | Jul 22, 2013
Photos by: Lexi Coon Fourteen rookies prepare to take to the waves during the Rehoboth Beach Patrol's annual rookie test July 8.

Rehoboth Beach — With 14 new members of the Rehoboth Beach Patrol, the annual rookie test showcased who has trained the hardest since Memorial Day weekend. With events ranging from sprint-swims to push-ups, the rookies had to pass every test in order to become an official member of the patrol. Each event was a race or a test that was scored based on rank, and at the end of the second day, the rookie with the most points would win the title Rookie of the Year.

The events started July 7 with the run-swim-run and mile swim, while other events followed July 8. Ryan Kozel won the run-swim-run, while Brittany "T-Shawn" Luzik fought off the jellyfish and took first in the mile swim.

Day two brought a variety of events that tested endurance, skills, strength and abilities. To bring the rookies to their destination, they first started with the 800-meter run, won by Connor Lingo. They next took to the water for the sprint-swim event, where Kozel once again beat his competition. Lauren Fura then held her own in the push-up challenge, winning first for her section, while Alex Thomas won the soft-sand sprint. Kozel earned his third first-place finish in the buoy charges event with Eric Peghini winning first in line-charges immediately after. The last challenge was the breath hold, won by Lingo.

At the end of the day, the beach patrol gathered together to celebrate the inauguration of 14 new members into their family and to announce the Rookie of the Year. By a narrow margin, Milford-native Lingo placed highest, and he and his brother Jordan became the third pair of brothers in the history of the Rehoboth Beach Patrol to win the award, joining Danny and Ryan MacLeish and Caleb and Wayde Marsh. Mike Kane was runner-up while Kozel and Dale Clemons tied for third overall.

Connor Lingo closes the gap between himself and the finish line to win the 800-meter run.
Halfway through the test Alex Thomas fights through the sand to win the soft-sand sprint.
Lauren Fura resets for another push-up and goes on to win the event while Kim Richarson counts for her.
Mackenzie Chrisco, left, Lauren Fura and Mike Kane fight through the water to reach the finish line during the line charge event.
Ryan Kozel comes out of the water first during the buoy charge event.
Eric Peghini rounds his post during the buoy charges just before winning the line charge event.
Melinda Nanovsky, left, and Eva Irwin celebrate and relax after completing their rookie test.
The rookie class of 2013 includes in back (l-r) Dale Clemons, Mike Kane, Alex Thomas, Eric Peghini, Ryan Kozel, Mathias Fallis, Mike Siegfried, Chris Leicht and Connor Lingo. In front are Melinda Nanovsky, Lauren Fura, Eva Irwin, Mackenzie Chrisco and Brittany "T-Shawn" Luzik.
Brittany "T-Shawn" Luzik runs back to the waves during the buoy charges as Mike Siegfried exits the water.
The fourteen rookies celebrate with a traditional pyramid after finishing their rookie test.
Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.

The price of liberty is eternal vigilance.