Cape Gazette
http://capegazette.villagesoup.com/p/1062664

YA author Hollis Seamon to sign new novel Oct. 6 at Browseabout

Oct 01, 2013
Hollis Seamon

Browseabout Books announces a book signing with Hollis Seamon, author of the young adult novel "Somebody Up There Hates You." The event will take place at 1 p.m., Sunday, Oct. 6, at 133 Rehoboth Ave. in Rehoboth Beach.

Hollis spent years visiting a children’s hospital while caring for her son. She was fascinated and touched by the young people she encountered there, particularly the teenagers. No matter how ill or how miserably uncomfortable they were, those kids remained teenagers: rebellious, foul-mouthed, irreverent - and wonderfully funny.

That’s where Richie, the 17-year-old narrator of "Somebody Up There Hates You," came from.  In many ways, Richie is a typical teenage boy: he hates rules; he likes having fun, and he has a crush on a cute girl. However, Richie has terminal cancer, and his crush, Sylvie, lives across the hall in their hospice unit.

While Richie finds dying to be pretty boring, he and Sylvie work to keep life in the hospice as entertaining as possible. They devise pranks and hair-raising escapes, navigate the obstacles of teenage love, and even stand up to Sylvie’s father. Though Richie has a finite number of days left, he makes an everlasting impression on all who come to know him.

Sure to appeal to fans of John Green’s "The Fault in Our Stars" and Jenny Downham’s "Before I Die," "Somebody Up There Hates You" is an unflinching, heartbreaking, funny, and, above all, empowering novel about living as much as you can before time runs out.

For more information go to browseaboutbooks.com or call 302-226-2665.

 

(Source: Submitted)
Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.